Each state has a minimum legal requirement for car insurance. Though this minimum is all that you need to abide the law, it may be be best to purchase more than the minimum. The following is a list of insurance requirements by state. The first number indicates the bodily injury liability limit and the second number refers to the limit per accident. The third number refers to the property damage liability limit. If you don’t feel comfortable with the bare minimum, you may want to raise your car insurance limit to cover injuries and property damage. Visit the Rocket Lawyer Insurance Legal Center to get a free quote.  

Get started Start Your Car Bill of Sale Answer a few questions. We'll take care of the rest.


State   Bodily Injury Liability    Limit Per Accident     Damaged Property Liability
Alabama   $25,000   $50,000     $25,000
Alaska   $50,000   $100,000     $25,000
Arizona   $15,000   $30,000     $10,000
Arkansas   $25,000   $50,000     $25,000
California   $15,000   $30,000     $5,000
Colorado   $25,000   $50,000     $15,000
Connecticut   $20,000   $40,000     $10,000
Delaware   $15,000   $30,000     $10,000
Florida   $10,000    -     $10,000
Georgia   $25,000   $50,000     $25,000
Hawaii   $20,000   $40,000     $10,000
Idaho   $25,000   $50,000     $15,000
Illinois   $20,000   $40,000     $15,000
Indiana   $25,000   $50,000     $10,000
Iowa   $20,000   $40,000     $15,000
Kansas   $25,000   $50,000     $10,000
Kentucky   $25,000   $50,000     $10,000
Louisiana   $15,000   $30,000     $25,000
Maine   $50,000   $100,000     $25,000
Maryland   $30,000   $60,000     $15,000
Massachusetts   $20,000   $40,000     $5,000
Michigan   $20,000   $40,000     $10,000
Minnesota   $30,000   $60,000     $10,000
Mississippi   $25,000   $50,000     $25,000
Missouri   $25,000   $50,000     $10,000
Montana   $25,000   $50,000     $10,000
Nebraska   $25,000   $50,000     $10,000
Nevada   $15,000   $30,000     $10,000
New Hampshire   $25,000   $50,000     $25,000
New Jersey   $15,000   -     $5,000
New Mexico   $25,000   $50,000     $10,000
New York   $25,000   $50,000     $10,000
North Carolina   $30,000   $60,000     $25,000
North Dakota   $25,000   $50,000     $25,000
Ohio   $12,500   $25,000     $7,500
Oklahoma   $25,000   $50,000     $25,000
Oregon   $25,000   $50,000     $20,000
Pennsylvania   $15,000   $30,000     $5,000
Rhode Island   $25,000   $50,000     $25,000
South Carolina   $25,000   $50,000     $25,000
South Dakota   $25,000   $50,000     $25,000
Tennessee   $25,000   $50,000     $15,000
Texas   $30,000   $60,000     $25,000
Utah   $25,000   $65,000     $15,000
Vermont   $25,000    $50,000     $25,000
Virginia   $25,000   $50,000     $20,000
Washington   $25,000   $50,000     $10,000
West Virginia   $20,000   $40,000     $10,000
Wisconsin   $50,000   $100,000     $15,000
Wyoming   $25,000   $50,000     $15,000

Get started Start Your Car Bill of Sale Answer a few questions. We'll take care of the rest.

Get started Start Your Car Bill of Sale Answer a few questions. We'll take care of the rest.