Account
Get our app
Account Sign up Sign in

Visit our Divorce Center

Get divorce documents and ask a lawyer your questions.


Residency Requirements

Either the petitioner or respondent must have lived in the state of Texas for at least 6 months, as well as in the county where you are filing for divorce for a minimum of 90 days. Both of these requirements must be met before filing for the divorce.

Fill Out your Forms

When filing for a no-fault divorce, various forms need to be completed. Any couple filing for a no-fault divorce should complete the Original Petition for Divorce and the Summons Form. Couples with children must complete several additional forms. Forms to be completed by people filing for no-fault divorce in Texas  include:

For Couples without Children:


For Couples with Children:


If both parties agree about the terms of the divorce, they can complete a Divorce Settlement Agreement, where all the terms of their agreement are clearly stated. Rocket Lawyer's easy interview process can walk you through completing your detailed agreement.

Make Copies of your Forms


Once you have filled out the appropriate forms, make at least three copies of each. One set will be served to your spouse, one to be filed with the state, and one should be kept for your records.

Bring your Completed Forms to your Court Clerk's Office and Pay the Fee

Proceed to your court clerk's office with the originals and copies of your forms. If everything is in order, the clerk will use the original forms and ask you to pay a fee to file. You can also ask for an Affidavit of Inability to Pay if you cannot afford to pay them.

If your spouse lives in another state or country, make sure to consult a lawyer before filing.

This article contains general legal information and does not contain legal advice. Rocket Lawyer is not a law firm or a substitute for an attorney or law firm. The law is complex and changes often. For legal advice, please ask a lawyer.


Ask a lawyer

Our attorneys are here for you.
Characters remaining: 600
Rocket Lawyer On Call® Attorneys

Try Rocket Lawyer FREE for 7 days

Start your Premium Membeship now and get legal services you can trust at prices you can afford. You’ll get:

All the legal documents you need—customize, share, print & more

Unlimited digital signatures with RocketSign®

Ask a lawyer questions or have them review your document

Dispute protection on all your contracts with Document Defense®

30-minute phone call with a lawyer about any new issue

Discounts! Incorporate for FREE + hire a lawyer with up to 40% off*

*Free incorporation for new members only and excludes state fees. Lawyer must be part of our nationwide network to receive discount.

Trusted and secure
Better Business Bureau A+ rating