Answer a few simple questions to make your document in minutes
Save progress and finish on any device; download & print anytime
Securely sign online and invite others to sign
Making a Last Will and Testament in Colorado
A Colorado Last Will and Testament (a "Will") is a legal document that lays out your wishes in relation to property distribution after death, such as who will inherit your money, your home, or your personal belongings.
The person making a Will is known as the "testator," and the individuals or organizations being appointed to oversee the testator's estate after death are known as "executors." Designed for residents of Colorado, this Last Will and Testament is made for use in El Paso County, Arapahoe County, Jefferson County, and in any other part of the state. Any Colorado Will from Rocket Lawyer can be modified for your particular situation. This official legal document will provide verification of your decisions.
It's fast and easy to outline your wishes using a free Colorado Last Will and Testament template from Rocket Lawyer:
This solution is often going to be notably more affordable and convenient than meeting and hiring a traditional lawyer. If needed, you can start a Last Will and Testament on behalf of a family member, and then have that person sign it when ready. Please remember that for a Will to be accepted as valid, the testator must be an adult who is mentally competent at the time of signing. In the event that the testator has already been declared legally incompetent, a court-appointed conservatorship generally will be required. In such a situation, it is best to talk to a lawyer.
If you are over 18 years old, you ought to have a Last Will and Testament. Though it may be challenging to think about, your loved ones will want to know your wishes for guardianship (if applicable), your assets, and your property, if you pass away. Here are some common occasions where you might find it useful to make or update your Will:
Whether this Colorado Last Will and Testament is being drafted as part of a forward-looking plan or made in response to a change in your life, witnesses and/or notarization can often help to protect your document if its authenticity is disputed by a third party.
Writing a Will is normally simple, but you or your executor might still need legal advice. Finding a legal professional to comment on your Colorado Last Will and Testament might be relatively time-intensive. An easier option would be to go through the On Call network of attorneys. With a Premium membership, you can get your document reviewed or ask any questions. As always, Rocket Lawyer will be here for you.
The cost of finding and working with the average law firm to make a Last Will and Testament could total between $200 and $1,000, depending on where you are. Rocket Lawyer offers much more than other Last Will and Testament template websites that you may come across elsewhere. As a Rocket Lawyer Premium member, you can get up to 40% in savings when hiring an attorney from our network.
After completing a customized Last Will using Rocket Lawyer, you'll be able to view it anytime and anywhere. You also can take any or all of the following actions related to your document: making edits, printing it out, or signing it. Alongside your Colorado Will, there's a set of proposed steps you can take to finalize your document. Even if you make copies, be sure to store your signed original in a safe place. It is important that at least one other person knows where to find it after your passing.
The rules governing Wills will vary in each state; however, in Colorado, your Will must be signed by two witnesses or notarized. As a basic standard, your witnesses must be competent individuals. Furthermore, it is recommended that you have your Will notarized in order to reinforce the legitimacy of the document.
Colorado Last Will and Testament Laws: C.R.S 15-10-201(59), 15-11-502, 15-11-503, 15-11-506, 15-11-513
A Will doesn't need to be filed with the court until the testator passes away. In the state of Colorado, a Last Will and Testament must be filed with the probate court within 10 days of the testator's death. Filing a Will (alongside any other forms needed by the county) allows for probate to begin.