Answer a few simple questions to make your document in minutes
Save progress and finish on any device; download & print anytime
Securely sign online and invite others to sign
Making an Advance Directive in Colorado
A Colorado Advance Directive (or "Declaration as to Medical Treatment") is a legal document that outlines your preferences in relation to health care, such as your refusal or acceptance of a medical treatment or procedure, and/or selection of a trusted healthcare decision maker.
The individual making an Advance Directive is called the "principal," while the person or entity gaining authority to carry out the principal's wishes is known as the "agent." Suited for Colorado residents, this Advance Directive is made for use in Arapahoe County, Jefferson County, El Paso County, and in all other regions throughout the state. Each Colorado Advance Directive from Rocket Lawyer can be tailored for your unique circumstances. This essential legal document provides verification of your decisions to medical institutions, and it will confirm that your chosen agent has been authorized to make choices for you when you are not able.
It's fast and simple to document your medical wishes using a free Colorado Advance Directive template from Rocket Lawyer:
This method will often be notably more affordable and convenient than finding and hiring a conventional attorney. If necessary, you may start an Advance Directive on behalf of a relative, and then have that person sign it when ready. Keep in mind that for this document to be considered valid, the principal must be a mentally competent adult when they sign. In the event that the principal is already unable to make their own decisions, a court-appointed conservatorship generally will be necessary. When facing this situation, it is best for you to connect with an attorney.
Every person over 18 should have an Advance Healthcare Directive (both a Healthcare Power of Attorney and a Living Will). Even though it is unpleasant to think about, a time might come when you can no longer make your own medical decisions. Here are some typical circumstances where you might consider it helpful to make or update your Advance Directive:
Whether this Colorado Advance Directive has been made as a result of a recent change in your health or as part of a long-term plan, notarization and witnesses are highly recommended as a best practice for protecting your document if its lawfulness is challenged. In Colorado, please keep in mind that Advance Directives in the form of a Living Will are not valid during pregnancy.
Making an Advance Directive is usually straightforward, but you or your agent might need advice. It may depend on whom you reach out to, but often some lawyers will not even agree to review documents that they did not write. A more favorable approach might be through the On Call network of attorneys. As a Premium member, you will be able to ask for guidance from an experienced attorney or ask additional legal questions about your Advance Directive. We're here to support you.
The fees associated with finding and hiring a law firm to make an Advance Directive might be anywhere between $200 and $1,000, depending on where you are. Different from the other websites you might come across, Rocket Lawyer offers more than an Advance Directive template. If you ever need support from a lawyer, your Premium membership offers up to 40% in savings when you hire an attorney from our On Call network.
With a Rocket Lawyer membership, you can make edits, download it as a PDF document or Word file, and/or print it. When you are ready to finish up your Advance Directive, it should be signed. Your agent(s) and care providers should receive copies of the fully executed document.
The requirements and restrictions are different by state; however, in Colorado, your Advance Directive must be signed by two witnesses. The witnesses to your Advance Directive form shouldn't be your healthcare providers, their employees, or any of your creditors. Heirs and beneficiaries are restricted, as well. As a general standard, your witnesses will need to be at least age 18, and none of them should also be named as your agent.
Legal references for an Advance Directive in Colorado: §§ 15-18-101 to 15-18-113