Answer a few simple questions to make your document in minutes
Save progress and finish on any device; download & print anytime
Securely sign online and invite others to sign
Making a Living Will in Utah
A Utah Living Will is a legal document that lays out your preferences regarding health care, such as your refusal or acceptance of a medical treatment, in addition to the optional selection of a chosen agent or decision maker.
The individual making a Living Will is called the "principal," while the person or organization obtaining authority to carry out the principal's wishes is called the "agent." Suited for residents of Utah, this free Living Will can be used in Davis County, Salt Lake County, Utah County, and in all other counties and municipalities across the state. Each Utah Living Will form from Rocket Lawyer can be customized to address your particular circumstances. Making this official document will provide a record of your decisions to healthcare institutions, and it will confirm that your agents have the authority to make choices for you when you are not able.
It is quick and easy to outline your medical preferences with a free Utah Living Will template from Rocket Lawyer:
This route will often end up being much less time-consuming than finding and working with a traditional law firm. If necessary, you may fill out this Living Will on behalf of your spouse or another family member, and then help that person sign it when ready. Keep in mind that for a Living Will to be considered valid, the principal must be mentally competent at the time of signing. In the event that the principal has already been declared incompetent, a court-appointed conservatorship generally will be necessary. When facing such a situation, it's a good idea to speak to an attorney.
Every adult should have a Living Will. Even though it's challenging to acknowledge, a day may come when you are no longer able to make your own healthcare decisions. Here are some common occasions in which it may be helpful to make or update your Living Will:
Whether your Utah Living Will is being produced in response to a recent change in your health or as part of a long-term plan, notarization and witnesses are strongly recommended as a best practice for protecting this document and/or your agent if their privileges are questioned by a third party. Please note that a Living Will is not valid during pregnancy in Utah.
Making a Living Will is typically simple to do; however, you or your agent(s) might need legal advice. Finding an attorney to check your Utah Living Will could be time-intensive and fairly expensive. An easier and more cost-effective alternative would be via Rocket Lawyer attorney services. As a Premium member, you can get your documents looked at by an On Call attorney with relevant experience. You can rest assured that Rocket Lawyer will be here to support you.
The fees associated with working with a law firm to make a Living Will could range between $200 and $1,000. When you use Rocket Lawyer, you aren't just filling out a Living Will template. In case you ever need help from a lawyer, your Rocket Lawyer membership offers up to 40% in savings when you hire an attorney from our On Call network.
Attached to your Utah Living Will form, you will find a series of next steps you should take after your document is completed. Feel free to interact with your PoA in all of these ways: editing it, downloading it in PDF format or as a Word file, printing it out, and/or signing it. Finally, you will need to send a final copy of the fully signed document to your agent(s) and care providers.
The specific requirements and restrictions for Living Wills will be different by state; however, in Utah, your document needs to be signed by one witness. Your chosen witness must not be anyone who is financially responsible for your medical care or any healthcare provider or administrator of a facility where you are receiving care. It also should not be your spouse or another family member, heir, or beneficiary. As a basic standard, your witness will need to be over the age of 18 and should not simultaneously be your healthcare agent.
Utah Living Will Laws: Utah Health and Safety Code § 75-2a-107(c)