Answer a few simple questions to make your document in minutes
Save progress and finish on any device; download & print anytime
Securely sign online and invite others to sign
Making a Florida Eviction Notice
Florida Eviction Notices are used by landlords to alert their tenants that they are in violation of their lease agreement. A Florida Eviction Notice will let your tenants know that if they do not follow through with your legal demands for payment of late rent or compliance with lease requirements, then you will take legal action. Notices are commonly used for nonpayment of rent or for lease violations. They can be used for cause and no cause evictions in Florida. Giving your tenant an Eviction Notice is the first step in attempting to remove a tenant from a rental property. Florida law requires a landlord to give a tenant proper notice before the eviction process can begin.
How long it will take to evict a tenant in Florida depends on the reasons for the eviction and whether or not the tenant will fight the eviction. When a tenant decides to fight an eviction, it is called a contested eviction. If a tenant decides not to fight an eviction, it is called an uncontested eviction.
It usually takes about 14 days for an uncontested eviction. The quality of the tenant's arguments against the eviction will determine how long a contested eviction will take.
Florida law requires a landlord to give a tenant proper notice before the eviction process can begin. The amount of notice that must be given depends on the cause for eviction.
Tenants who have yet to pay rent or who have violated the lease and rental agreement must be given a 3-day and 7-day notice, respectively. If rent isn't paid or the violation isn't fixed by the end of the 3-day or 7-day notice period, then the landlord can file an eviction lawsuit.
A 7-day Unconditional Quit Notice will be given to tenants who create unreasonable disturbances, destroy the rental property, or repeat the same lease violation within one year. This type of notice does not give the tenant the opportunity to cure, or fix, the violation.
The court filing fee for eviction cases is $185.00.
Before the eviction process can begin, a 3-day written notice will be given to tenants who have not paid rent. After the 3-day period, the landlord can then file an eviction lawsuit.
Please note that the 3-day period does not include weekends, holidays, or the day the notice is given. Landlords must accept any rent that is fully paid during the 3-day time frame.