Account
Get our app
Account Sign up Sign in

Start Your Car Bill of Sale

Answer a few questions. We'll take care of the rest.

 

Here are some general guidelines for vehicle registration renewal:

 

Check the Status of Your Registration. The DMV will mail your renewal notice about a month prior to your registration’s expiration date. If you do not receive a renewal notice, contact your local DMV office.

Calculate Your Fees. Each time you renew your vehicle, you are required to pay a registration fee. Fees vary by state and depend on the year and classification of your vehicle. Similar to car insurance rates, expect higher renewal rates for newer or more valuable vehicles.

Renew. You can renew your vehicle registration online, in person, by mail, or by phone. Here is a list of important documents to have ready when you renew:

  • Vehicle Renewal Notice
  • Vehicle Title
  • Vehicle’s license plate number
  • VIN (Vehicle Identification Number)
  • Proof of financial responsibility
  • Address or name changes (if applicable)

If you renew online or by mail, the average processing period is around 5-10 business days. Some states require you to submit a smog certification. To avoid costly late fees and penalties, be sure to know your registration expiration date and renew as soon as possible.

Affix Your Stickers. Once you renew, be sure to properly place your new stickers on your license plate immediately. Follow the included instructions to see where exactly to place them.

Get a Tax Deduction. A small portion of your vehicle license fee may be deductible from your income tax. Locate the annual Vehicle License Fee on your Vehicle Registration Renewal Notice or your Validated Registration Card. To see if you are eligible for a tax deduction, Find a Tax Lawyer.

For specific laws and regulations by state, see the following links. 

Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
D.C.
Delaware
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas

 

Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland 
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana
Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico 
New York
North Carolina

 

North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Puerto Rico
Rhode Island
South Carolina 
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming

This article contains general legal information and does not contain legal advice. Rocket Lawyer is not a law firm or a substitute for an attorney or law firm. The law is complex and changes often. For legal advice, please ask a lawyer.


Ask a lawyer

Our On Call attorneys are here for you.
Characters remaining: 600
Rocket Lawyer On Call® Attorneys

Try Rocket Lawyer FREE for 7 days

Start your Premium Membeship now and get legal services you can trust at prices you can afford. You’ll get:

All the legal documents you need—customize, share, print & more

Unlimited digital signatures with RocketSign®

Ask a lawyer questions or have them review your document

Dispute protection on all your contracts with Document Defense®

30-minute phone call with a lawyer about any new issue

Discounts! Incorporate for FREE + hire a lawyer with up to 40% off*

*Free incorporation for new members only and excludes state fees. Lawyer must be part of our nationwide network to receive discount.

Trusted and secure
Better Business Bureau A+ rating