Answer a few simple questions to make your document in minutes
Save progress and finish on any device; download & print anytime
Securely sign online and invite others to sign
Making an Advance Directive in Wyoming
A Wyoming Advance Directive is a legal document that sets forth your wishes in relation to health care, such as your refusal or acceptance of specific medical treatments and procedures, and/or your selection of a chosen agent or healthcare decision maker.
The individual making an Advance Directive is called the "principal," and the individual or organization obtaining permission to carry out the principal's wishes is known as the "agent." Suited for residents of Wyoming, this free Advance Directive can be used in Natrona County, Campbell County, Laramie County, and in all other counties and municipalities across the state. Each Wyoming Advance Directive from Rocket Lawyer can be modified for your particular scenario. With this document on hand, your healthcare facilities will have a point of reference for your preferences, and your agent(s) can provide proof that they have been authorized to make choices for you when you are not able.
It is simple and easy to document your medical wishes with a free Wyoming Advance Directive template from Rocket Lawyer:
This method, in most cases, will end up being notably less expensive than meeting and hiring your average law firm. If necessary, you may prepare this Advance Directive on behalf of an elderly parent, a spouse, or another relative, and then have that person sign once you've drafted it. Please remember that for an Advance Directive to be considered legally valid, the principal must be an adult who is mentally competent when they sign. In the event that the principal has already been declared legally incompetent, a conservatorship might be required. When facing such a scenario, it's best to speak to an attorney.
If you are over 18 years old, you ought to have an Advance Healthcare Directive (both a Living Will and a Healthcare Power of Attorney). Even though it is unpleasant to think about, a time may come when you are no longer able to make your own medical decisions. Here are some typical situations where it can be useful to make or update your Advance Directive:
Whether this Wyoming Advance Directive is being made in response to a change in your health or as part of a long-term plan, notarization and/or witnesses are strongly encouraged as a best practice for protecting your document if anyone challenges its lawfulness. That said, please keep in mind that Advance Directives containing your medical care preferences, are not valid during pregnancy in Wyoming.
Making an Advance Directive is typically simple to do, but you or your agent may still need legal advice. Depending on whom you reach out to, some lawyers will not even agree to review a document if they didn't write it. A better approach might be via the Rocket Lawyer On Call® attorney network. If you become a Premium member, you have the ability to ask for guidance from an experienced lawyer or get answers to additional legal questions about your Advance Directive. As always, Rocket Lawyer is here to help.
The fees associated with working with your average attorney to make an Advance Directive might add up to anywhere between $200 and $1,000. Different from most other Advance Directive template providers that you might encounter, Rocket Lawyer provides members up to 40% in savings when hiring a lawyer, so an attorney from our network can review the situation and take action if you ever need support.
With a Rocket Lawyer membership, you may edit it, save it as a Word or PDF document, and/or print it out. When you are ready to finalize your Advance Directive, it should be signed. Be sure that your agent(s), care providers, and other impacted parties get their copy of the fully executed document.
The specific requirements are different by state; however, in Wyoming, your document needs to be acknowledged by a notary public or signed by two witnesses. Your chosen witnesses cannot be care providers, operators, or other employees of any healthcare or residential/community care facilities where you are receiving care. As a general principle, witnesses must be over 18 years old, and no witness should also be designated as your agent.
See legal references for an Advance Directive in Wyoming: Title 35, Ch. 22, Article 4