Answer a few simple questions to make your document in minutes
Save progress and finish on any device; download & print anytime
Securely sign online and invite others to sign
Making a Last Will and Testament in New Jersey
A New Jersey Last Will and Testament (a "Will") is a legal document that lays out your preferences related to asset distribution after death, such as who will inherit your personal belongings, your money, or your home.
The individual making a Will is called the "testator," and the individuals or entities appointed to oversee the testator's estate after death are called "executors." Suited for New Jersey residents, this Last Will and Testament is made for use in Bergen County, Middlesex County, Essex County, and in all other counties and municipalities across the state. Each New Jersey Will from Rocket Lawyer can be edited for your unique circumstances. Making this essential document will provide a record of your decisions.
It is quick and easy to outline your preferences with a free New Jersey Last Will and Testament template from Rocket Lawyer:
This method, in many cases, will end up being much less expensive and less time-consuming than finding and hiring your average law firm. If needed, you may start a Last Will and Testament on behalf of an elderly parent, a spouse, or another relative, and then have them sign it when ready. Please note that for this document to be considered legally valid, the testator must be an adult who is mentally competent at the time of signing. If the testator has already been declared legally incompetent, a court-appointed conservatorship may be necessary. When facing this scenario, it would be a good idea for you to talk to an attorney.
Every person over 18 years old ought to have a Last Will and Testament. Although it is difficult to think about, your loved ones will want to know your preferences in relation to guardianship (when applicable), your assets, and your property when you pass away. Here are some common occasions where you might consider it useful to make or update your Will:
Regardless of whether your New Jersey Last Will and Testament has been made as a result of a recent change in your life or as part of a long-term plan, notarization and/or witnesses are highly recommended as a best practice for protecting your document if a third party disputes its validity.
Writing a Will is normally straightforward, but you could still have questions. Having an attorney look over the document may take longer than you would expect if you do it by yourself. An easier approach would be to request help from the On Call network of attorneys. Premium members have the ability to ask for a document review from an On Call attorney with relevant experience or send additional legal questions. As always, you can live confidently knowing that Rocket Lawyer is here by your side.
The cost of finding and working with a traditional legal provider to write a Last Will and Testament could total between $200 and $1,000. Unlike most other Last Will and Testament template providers that you might find elsewhere, Rocket Lawyer offers members up to 40% in savings when hiring a lawyer, so an On Call attorney can represent you if you ever need help.
With a Premium membership, you may edit it, download it as a Word or PDF document, or print it. In order to complete your New Jersey Last Will, it should be signed. Even if you make copies, take care to store your signed original in a secure location. It is critical that your loved ones know where to find it after you have passed.
The specifications governing Wills vary in each state; however, in New Jersey, your document requires two witnesses. As a basic principle, your witnesses must be competent individuals who are of sound mind. Furthermore, it is strongly recommended that you have your Last Will notarized in order to reinforce the credibility of the document.
See legal references for a Will in New Jersey: Section 3B:3-2
A Will doesn't need to be filed until the testator has passed away. In New Jersey, the Will must be filed with the probate court within 10 days of the testator's death. Filing the Will (in addition to any other forms needed by the county) initiates the probate process.