Answer a few simple questions to make your document in minutes
Save progress and finish on any device; download & print anytime
Securely sign online and invite others to sign
Making a Last Will and Testament in New Hampshire
A New Hampshire Last Will and Testament (a "Will") is a legal document that outlines your preferences in relation to property distribution after death, including who will inherit your home, personal belongings, or money.
The individual making a Will is known as the "testator," and the people or entities being appointed to manage the testator's estate after death are known as "executors." Suited for New Hampshire residents, this free Last Will and Testament can be used in Hillsborough County, Rockingham County, Merrimack County, and in every other county or municipality throughout the state. Any New Hampshire Will from Rocket Lawyer can be tailored for your unique circumstances. Creating this document provides verification of your decisions.
It is fast and simple to document your preferences with a free New Hampshire Last Will and Testament template from Rocket Lawyer:
This method is often going to be notably less expensive than working with a conventional law firm. If needed, you can prepare this Last Will and Testament on behalf of an elderly parent, a spouse, or another family member, and then have that person sign once you've drafted it. Please remember that for a Will to be accepted as valid, the testator must be mentally competent when they sign. If the testator has already been declared legally incompetent, a conservatorship generally will be required. When managing this situation, it is important for you to connect with a lawyer.
Everyone over 18 years old should have a Last Will and Testament in place. While it may be unpleasant to acknowledge, your loved ones will want to know your wishes in relation to guardianship (if applicable), your assets, and your property should you pass away. Common circumstances in which it would be helpful to make or update your Will include:
Regardless of whether this New Hampshire Last Will and Testament is being made in response to a recent change in your life or as part of a forward-looking plan, notarization and/or witnesses are strongly encouraged as a best practice for protecting your document if anyone challenges its authenticity.
Writing a Will is usually simple to do, but you or your executor may need legal advice. Finding a lawyer to look over your document could take longer than you would expect if you try to do it by yourself. An alternate approach worth consideration is to get help via the On Call attorney network. Rocket Lawyer Premium members can ask for a document review from an experienced attorney or send other legal questions. As always, you can live confidently knowing that Rocket Lawyer is here by your side.
The fees associated with finding and hiring a conventional law firm to make a Last Will and Testament could be between $200 and $1,000. Rocket Lawyer offers much more than most other Last Will and Testament template providers that you might discover elsewhere. As a Rocket Lawyer Premium member, you can get up to a 40% discount when hiring an attorney from our On Call network.
Alongside your New Hampshire Last Will, there will be a list of instructions for what comes next after the document is finished. As a Rocket Lawyer member, you will be able to edit, save it in Word or PDF format, and/or sign it. Even if you decide to make copies, take care to store your signed original document in a secure location. It is critical that at least one other person knows where to find it after you pass away.
The specifications will be different by state; however, in New Hampshire, your document needs to be signed by two witnesses. As a general principle, your witnesses will need to be mentally competent people. If either of the two required witnesses is also named as a beneficiary, then any gift/inheritance for that person is void unless a third (disinterested) witness signs. Furthermore, it is highly encouraged that you have your Last Will and Testament notarized to help reinforce the legitimacy of the document.
See legal references for a Will in New Hampshire: Title LVI, Section 551:2
A Will doesn't need to be filed until the testator passes away. In the state of New Hampshire, the Will must be filed with the probate court within 30 days of the testator's death. Filing the Will (in addition to any specific forms needed by the county) initiates the process of probate.