1. Research the Requirements in Your StateIt used to be common practice for couples to have to get blood tests and medical exams before they got married or even got their marriage licenses. Nowadays, most states don’t require it. Still, you shouldn’t assume that your state has overturned it. Indiana recently removed the requirement, but states like Montana and Mississippi still have it on the books. You can find all of the preliminary requirements, along with the applicable forms, either on the state website or at your local courthouse.
2. Provide Proof of Identity, Complete the Application, and Pay Any FeesWhen you go to the courthouse to complete your application, the majority of the states require you to provide proof of your identity. Acceptable proof of identity is any form of current government issued photo identification, like a driver’s license or a passport. Some states, like Indiana, also require a birth certificate to verify your place of birth.
Some states offer an online application, but you still need to provide proof of your identity at the courthouse when you pick up the paperwork. You may also be required to have the application notarized. Also note that there’s generally a filing fee of between $15 and $35.
3. Double Check Spellings and Dates Before FilingFinally, remember always to make sure that the spelling and the dates on the marriage license application are correct. Your license will be invalid if you misspell the names. Fortunately, this does not nullify your marriage, but you will have to re-file the paperwork within 30-60 days of discovering the error.
This article contains general legal information and does not contain legal advice. Rocket Lawyer is not a law firm or a substitute for an attorney or law firm. The law is complex and changes often. For legal advice, please ask a lawyer.