Small claims court costs won’t be able to exceed the maximum allowed within your respective state. There’s no federal limit set, and each state has the right to set their own limits. Some limits can be exceeded in certain cases. For example, the maximum a small claims court case can be is $7,000 in Massachusetts, but there’s a clause that states there’s no limit if the damage was caused by a motor vehicle.
Small Claims Court Limits
Determining the maximum allowed claim is an easy task. You should call your local county courthouse to inquire about your local limits. Local government websites will often state small claims court limits and are a great resource to file and print filing forms.
If you’re going to consult with or ask a lawyer, they will be able to explain the local laws pertaining to the maximum monetary value that a claim may be.
Small claims court costs may also be added into the overall settlement even if the costs exceed the limit. Costs incurred to prove a case will often be tacked onto the settlement amount.
Small claims court limits are as little as $2,500, as seen in Kentucky, or as high as $25,000, as seen in Tennessee.
Filing should be done at a local county courthouse where the clerk will be able to answer any of your questions. Clerks will also advise you if your case would have any exceptions that would allow the limit to be removed, allowing for a higher monetary value. A clerk will also be able to answer any questions you may have pertaining to statute of limitations and serving court documents to the defendant.