There is a limited amount of time within which a patient can make a medical malpractice claim against a medical professional. While the actual statutes of limitations for these claims vary by state, you will always have at least a year after the injury has taken place. The list below contains the statute of limitations for each state. Note that in many states, the statute contains considerations regarding when a patient discovered or realized medical negligence occurred. This is referred to as the discovery rule.

Get started Ask a Lawyer a Question You'll hear back in one day.


In some states, such as Florida, the statute of limitations varies depending on the type of injury or when the injury was discovered. These states are noted with an asterisk.

These times are for your reference only. If you believe you have a medical malpractice claim, you should find an attorney immediately.

State Statute of Limitation     
Alabama* 2 or 4 years     
Alaska  2 years     
Arizona 2 years     
Arkansas 3 years     
California* 1 or 3 years     
Colorado 2 years     
Connecticut* 2 or 3 years      
D.C. 3 years     
Delaware 2 years     
Florida* 2 or 4 years      
Georgia 2 years     
Hawaii* 2 or 6 years     
Idaho  2 years     
Illinois 2 years     
Indiana 2 years     
Iowa 2 years     
Kansas 2 years     
Kentucky 1 year      
Louisiana 1 year     
Maine 3 years     
Maryland* 3 or 5 years      
Massachusetts 3 years     
Michigan 2 years     
Minnesota  4 years     
Mississippi* 2 or 7 years     
Missouri* 2 or 10 years     
Montana 3 years     
Nebraska 2 years     
Nevada* 2 or 4 years      
New Hampshire 3 years     
New Jersey 2 years     
New Mexico 3 years      
New York 2 and a half years     
North Carolina* 3 to 10 years     
North Dakota  2 years     
Ohio* 1 or 4 years     
Oklahoma 2 years      
Oregon 2 years     
Pennsylvania 2 years     
Rhode Island 3 years      
South Carolina 3 years     
South Dakota 2 years     
Tennessee 1 years      
Texas 2 years     
Utah 2 years     
Vermont  3 years     
Virginia* 2 to 10 years     
Washington 3 years      
West Virginia 2 years     
Wisconsin 3 years     
Wyoming 2 years      

 

 

Get started Ask a Lawyer a Question You'll hear back in one day.

Get started Ask a Lawyer a Question You'll hear back in one day.